ResearchScope 2renewable energy certificatesNVIDIA
Two open ledgers on an off-white ground, one nearly blank and one dense with dark drifting marks in magenta, violet, blue and gold, joined by a single pale strip of paper

Market-based vs location-based emissions: the NVIDIA case

Market-based vs location-based emissions, through NVIDIA’s FY2026 report: 308,891 tonnes one way, 568 the other, and what that means for anyone buying AI.

CBCory Bergh, CEO and co-founder, Crbon LabsPublished 14 September 202618 min read

NVIDIA’s claim to 100% clean electricity rests on certificates it bought, and the grid its offices, labs and rented data centres drew from stayed the same. Its fiscal year 2026 report shows both sides. Counted by the grid, the electricity came to 308,891 tonnes of CO2e, which is what the power plants emitted. Counted after the certificates, it came to 568 tonnes. NVIDIA reports both, as the rules require, but only the larger number tells you what went into the air. When an AI provider gives you a figure near zero, ask which of the two it is.

NVIDIA’s technical blog said in March 2026 that token consumption across the industry now exceeds 10 quadrillion tokens a year. The company that sells the accelerators those tokens run on publishes a sustainability report every June, and the 2026 edition is a useful document for anyone who reports AI usage, because it shows in one table how the accounting works and where it stops. This post reads that table, explains the mechanism behind its biggest number, answers whether NVIDIA is setting an example or moving dirty electrons around, and ends with the wording we use for our own product and why.

The two numbers in plain words

Picture the grid as a punch bowl at a party. Six guests pour in juice and four pour in cheap syrup, and everyone drinks the same mix. Now suppose the guests who brought juice can sell receipts, each saying that a jug of juice went in on your behalf. Buy six and your paperwork says you drank pure juice, although your cup held the same mix as everyone else’s.

Location-based accounting measures what was in the bowl. Market-based accounting counts the receipts. A renewable energy certificate is one of those receipts, a record that one megawatt-hour of clean electricity was generated somewhere, which the holder can claim as their own. Buying one changes nothing about the power that reaches the buyer’s building, since electricity on a shared grid cannot be sent to one customer.

Market-based vs location-based: two figures for the same electricity

The GHG Protocol’s Scope 2 Guidance asks a company to report the emissions behind its purchased electricity twice. The location-based figure applies the average emissions intensity of the grid where the power was used. The market-based figure applies the contracts the company holds, so electricity covered by an energy attribute certificate, a power purchase agreement or a utility’s renewable tariff is counted at the emissions of that generator, which for wind and solar is zero. A company that buys enough certificates to cover its consumption reports a market-based figure near zero while its location-based figure carries on describing the grid.

Location-basedMarket-based
Emission factorThe average of the grid where the electricity was consumedThe generator named in the company’s contracts, or the residual mix where no contract applies
What it describesWhat the grid burned to serve the loadWhich clean generation the company holds the claim to
What a certificate changesNothingThe figure drops by one megawatt-hour’s worth of grid emissions per certificate
Who reports itEveryone, under the GHG Protocol’s Scope 2 GuidanceEveryone with a contract, alongside the location-based figure

NVIDIA’s table for the fiscal year that ended in January 2026 shows what that looks like at scale.

Line, tonnes of CO2eFY26FY25FY24
Scope 19,8229,0478,887
Scope 2, location-based308,891228,378178,087
Scope 2, market-based568040,555
Scope 3, all reported categories10,700,9406,912,5773,638,432
FY24: Location-based 178,087 tonnes of CO2e178,087FY24: Market-based 40,555 tonnes of CO2e40,555FY24FY25: Location-based 228,378 tonnes of CO2e228,378FY25: Market-based 0 tonnes of CO2e0FY25FY26: Location-based 308,891 tonnes of CO2e308,891FY26: Market-based 568 tonnes of CO2e568FY26
  • Location-based
  • Market-based
NVIDIA’s Scope 2 by method, fiscal years 2024 to 2026, in tonnes of CO2e. The location-based columns grow with the company; the market-based columns fall to nothing once certificates cover consumption. Hover a column for the figure. Source: NVIDIA Sustainability Report FY2026.

The location-based figure grew 73% in two years as the company took on more offices, labs and leased data centre space. The market-based figure went from 40,555 to zero to 568 over the same period. The report explains the mechanism in one sentence: in FY26 NVIDIA purchased or generated enough clean electricity to match 100% of its global electricity usage, through on-site solar, long-term power purchase agreements, utility renewable electricity tariffs and energy attribute certificates. Under the market-based method, that is a 99.8% reduction. Under the location-based method, nothing was reduced.

Both figures are correct, and NVIDIA reports both, which is what the protocol requires. PricewaterhouseCoopers reviewed them and, in a report dated 5 June 2026, said it was not aware of any material changes they needed. That is limited assurance, a lighter check than a full examination, and the methods it reviewed are NVIDIA’s own. The question for a reader is what each one is a measurement of.

What a renewable energy certificate does, and what it leaves alone

Electricity cannot be traced once it is on the grid. Every generator feeds the same pool, every consumer draws from the mixture, and no one receives the wind farm’s electrons in particular. Certificates exist to fill that gap with paperwork. One certificate (the formal name is an energy attribute certificate, and in the United States a renewable energy certificate) records that one megawatt-hour of clean electricity was generated somewhere, and buying it gives the buyer the claim to that megawatt-hour. The buyer still draws the same mixture as everyone else on the grid.

A grid’s emissions factor is its total emissions divided by its total generation, and both are physical quantities. Buying a certificate does not start a turbine or switch off a gas plant, so neither number changes. What changes is who writes which figure on their report. The guidance deals with the other side of that trade through a residual mix, the grid’s mixture with the claimed clean megawatt-hours taken out. It is dirtier than the average, and everyone on that grid without certificates is supposed to report against it. Residual mix factors are published in Europe and almost nowhere else, so most reporters use plain grid averages that still contain the renewables somebody has already claimed. Summed across every company, market-based Scope 2 comes in below what the grids emitted, and the difference belongs to nobody’s inventory.

Two more limits sit inside the word matched. The match is annual and global by volume: a certificate from a wind farm generating at three in the morning in one market can cover a GPU drawing gas-fired power at six in the evening in another. And some of the consumption being matched was never metered. NVIDIA’s management assertion, which PwC reviewed, says its data centre electricity was estimated from capacity and equipment utilisation assumptions, and that estimates make up about 16% of the location-based Scope 2 figure and all of the market-based one. Every one of the 568 tonnes left after matching comes from estimated consumption.

The exception worth taking seriously is whether the money caused new clean generation to be built, which accountants call additionality. If the revenue from a contract is what got a new solar farm built, the grid genuinely has more clean generation than it would have had, and the factor improves for everyone. Long-term power purchase agreements can carry that claim. Unbundled certificates trade cheaply enough that they rarely decide whether a project goes ahead. NVIDIA’s report lists both instruments in its sourcing mix without saying how the total splits between them.

The 200,000 tonnes that stay on the books

Certificates cover electricity the company itself buys or generates. Two Scope 3 lines in the same table describe electricity-related emissions that no certificate reaches.

Scope 3 category, tonnes of CO2eFY26What it holds
Category 3, fuel and energy related activities103,390Upstream fuel supply and the electricity lost in transmission and distribution before it reaches the meter
Category 8, upstream leased assets99,427NVIDIA’s share of the overhead electricity in the colocation data centres it rents, estimated with an industry-average PUE from the Uptime Institute’s 2024 survey, plus fuel, refrigerant and some electricity at leased offices
What the grid burned: Scope 2, location-based 308,891 tonnes of CO2e. The location-based figure for the electricity NVIDIA bought308,891What the grid burnedStill on the books after matching: Category 8, leased assets 99,427 tonnes of CO2e. Rented facilities and their overhead; no certificate reaches itStill on the books after matching: Category 3, fuel and energy 103,390 tonnes of CO2e. Upstream fuel and grid losses; no certificate reaches itStill on the books after matching: Scope 2, market-based 568 tonnes of CO2e. What is left of Scope 2 after certificates, PPAs and tariffs203,385Still on the books after matching
  • Scope 2, location-based308,891
  • Scope 2, market-based568
  • Category 3, fuel and energy103,390
  • Category 8, leased assets99,427
The electricity-related lines in the FY26 inventory, in tonnes of CO2e. On the left, what the grid burned for the electricity NVIDIA bought. On the right, what stays on the books after matching: the 568 tonnes of market-based Scope 2 and the two Scope 3 lines that no certificate reaches, about 203,000 tonnes together. Hover a segment for the figure. Source: NVIDIA Sustainability Report FY2026.

Together they are about 203,000 tonnes, roughly two thirds of the location-based Scope 2 figure, sitting in categories a reader has to scroll past the headline to find. The clean electricity percentage that reaches 100% is defined against electricity NVIDIA purchases or generates, and the report describes it as a point-of-generation measure that does not address full life cycle impacts. The landlord’s cooling load and the losses on the wires are outside that denominator. The 100% is true as defined. It does not describe all of the energy it takes to run a GPU for a year.

One more absence matters for anyone reading the table as an AI buyer. The categories stop at 8. Category 11, use of sold products, is where the electricity consumed by the GPUs NVIDIA sells would sit, and it is not in the inventory. The company does publish a target for it: a 75% cut in Scope 3 emissions intensity from the use of sold GPU products per petaFLOP by FY30, from an FY23 base. An intensity target without a tonnage line means the largest emissions the company influences appear nowhere in its reported total.

  • Reporteddarker is larger
  • Not in the inventory
Category 1, Purchased goods: 9,301,735 tonnes of CO2eCat 1Purchased goods9,301,735Category 2, Capital goods: 954,865 tonnes of CO2eCat 2Capital goods954,865Category 3, Fuel and energy: 103,390 tonnes of CO2eCat 3Fuel and energy103,390Category 4, Upstream transport: 137,747 tonnes of CO2eCat 4Upstream transport137,747Category 5, Waste: 2,285 tonnes of CO2eCat 5Waste2,285Category 6, Business travel: 52,882 tonnes of CO2eCat 6Business travel52,882Category 7, Commuting: 48,609 tonnes of CO2eCat 7Commuting48,609Category 8, Leased assets: 99,427 tonnes of CO2eCat 8Leased assets99,427Category 9, Downstream transport: not reportedCat 9Downstream transportnot reportedCategory 10, Processing: not reportedCat 10Processingnot reportedCategory 11, Use of sold products: not reported. where the sold GPUs’ electricity would sitCat 11Use of sold productsnot reportedwhere the sold GPUs’electricity would sitCategory 12, End of life: not reportedCat 12End of lifenot reportedCategory 13, Downstream leases: not reportedCat 13Downstream leasesnot reportedCategory 14, Franchises: not reportedCat 14Franchisesnot reportedCategory 15, Investments: not reportedCat 15Investmentsnot reported
The fifteen Scope 3 categories of the GHG Protocol against NVIDIA’s FY26 inventory, in tonnes of CO2e. Eight are reported and seven are not; Category 11 is where the electricity used by the GPUs the company sells would be counted. Source: NVIDIA Sustainability Report FY2026.

How a zero reaches you

This section is reasoning about standard practice rather than something NVIDIA discloses, and it is the part that matters most for a company reporting its own AI usage.

A company that buys hosted inference reports it under Scope 3, Category 1, purchased goods and services, which our guide to Scope 3 for AI walks through. The protocol’s calculation guidance ranks four methods for that category, and most companies use the last one, spend-based, which multiplies dollars by an industry factor and has nothing to do with electricity at all. The better method is a supplier-specific factor. Ask a provider for one and the usual practice is to derive it from the provider’s own market-based Scope 2, which is near zero after matching. The customer inherits the zero.

Follow one request through a modern stack and the chain gets longer: a routing layer, a model provider, a hyperscaler. The operator matches with certificates and reports near zero. The provider inherits it. The router inherits it. The end user inherits it. Each of the four layers is compliant on its own, and the physical megawatt-hours have no home after the second one. There is no clearing house in corporate emissions accounting that forces the residual onto anyone’s books.

CrbonFree does not derive its factors from suppliers’ market-based figures. It meters tokens per model and per provider and applies location-based grid intensity through the provider’s published power usage effectiveness, so the number describes what the grid was burning where the model ran. The methodology lists every factor, and the GHG Protocol guide shows where the figure sits in a corporate inventory. A customer who wants the market-based view can ask their provider for it and report both, which is exactly what the protocol asks of the provider.

Where the standard is heading

The GHG Protocol opened a public consultation on the first major revision of its Scope 2 Guidance on 20 October 2025, and it closed on 31 January 2026. The central proposal is an hourly matching and deliverability requirement for the market-based method: certificates would have to be matched to the hours in which the electricity was consumed and come from a grid region that could plausibly have delivered it. Dual reporting stays. A second consultation follows in 2026, and the new Scope 2 Standard is expected in 2027. Because the EU’s reporting standards, California’s SB 253 and the investor frameworks all reference the protocol, the change propagates into mandatory reporting once it lands.

The main objection raised against hourly matching is that the data is hard to collect. That objection is an argument for metering, which is the whole of what a usage-level measurement tool does.

What beyond value chain mitigation means, and why we use the words

CrbonFree measures a customer’s AI usage per token and, on paid plans, retires verified carbon credits in a matching quantity. Every part of that sentence has a specific meaning, and it is worth being precise about what it does not mean.

Retiring credits does not reduce the customer’s Scope 1, 2 or 3. The Science Based Targets initiative’s term for it is beyond value chain mitigation, defined as mitigation action or investment that falls outside a company’s value chain, and the initiative places it below reductions in its mitigation hierarchy: set and meet the targets first, then invest outside the value chain in addition. The measured footprint is reported unchanged. The retirement is reported next to it, with the registry, the project, the serial numbers and the vintage, so an auditor can check each line on its own.

The wording also has a legal edge. The EU’s Directive 2024/825 applies from 27 September 2026 and adds to the list of practices banned in all circumstances any claim, based on mitigation outside the product’s value chain, that a product has a neutral, reduced or positive impact on the environment in terms of greenhouse gases. Its recital names the phrases: climate neutral, CO2 neutral certified, carbon positive, climate net zero, climate compensated, reduced climate impact, limited CO2 footprint. Companies may still describe their investments in credit projects, as long as the description is not misleading. A product page that says the tokens have been cancelled out crosses the line. One that says this usage measured 1.2 tonnes, and 1.2 tonnes of verified credits were retired against it on these serial numbers, does not.

That is the language we use, and it is the language a sustainability officer can put in a disclosure without a footnote.

Is NVIDIA setting an example, or moving dirty electrons around?

Certificates don’t move electrons in either direction, so NVIDIA hasn’t pushed dirty power onto anyone else’s grid. What it bought is the right to report its own electricity as clean, which the GHG Protocol allows, and it published the location-based figure alongside the market-based one. Part of its sourcing is long-term power purchase agreements, the kind of contract that can get a new wind or solar farm built. Part is unbundled certificates, which rarely decide whether anything gets built. The report doesn’t give the split, so from outside there is no way to tell how much new clean generation the 100% paid for.

The report is worth copying for publishing both figures and for defining exactly what its percentage covers. The 568 tonnes are the wrong number to give a board or an auditor who asks how much the company’s AI emitted, because that question is about the grid. An AI company can answer it more directly than NVIDIA’s report does, by counting its tokens, applying the intensity of the grid where they ran, and reporting the market-based figure next to that result without calling either one neutral.

What to ask a provider

  1. Both Scope 2 figures, location-based and market-based, not one or the other.
  2. Whether the matching is hourly and from a deliverable region, or annual and global.
  3. How much of the sourcing is long-term power purchase agreements and how much is unbundled certificates.
  4. What sits in Categories 3 and 8, and whether the facility overhead is metered or assumed from an industry-average PUE.
  5. The token count. NVIDIA meters its own internal AI factory and reports its output as years of human work rather than tokens or megawatt-hours. A provider that will not give a token count cannot give a defensible per-token factor either.

The methodology page has every factor and formula behind our per-token figures, the case study works a year of gateway traffic through them, and the sample account opens without a login.

Sources

  1. 01
    NVIDIA, Sustainability Report Fiscal Year 2026

    The FY26 greenhouse gas table (Scope 1, both Scope 2 figures, Scope 3 by category), the 100% clean electricity statement and the sourcing mix.

  2. 02
    PricewaterhouseCoopers, Report of Independent Accountants and NVIDIA management assertion, fiscal year 2026 (5 June 2026)

    Limited assurance over the FY26 emissions figures; the operational boundary, the estimation methods for data centre electricity, the share of each Scope 2 figure that is estimated, and the industry-average PUE behind Category 8.

  3. 03
    NVIDIA Technical Blog, NVIDIA Vera Rubin POD (16 March 2026)

    The line that token consumption now exceeds 10 quadrillion tokens per year.

  4. 04
    GHG Protocol, Scope 2 Guidance (2015)

    The location-based and market-based methods and the requirement to report both.

  5. 05
    GHG Protocol, Release: public consultations on Scope 2 and electricity-sector consequential accounting (20 October 2025)

    The proposed hourly matching and deliverability requirement, the consultation dates and the 2027 publication target.

  6. 06
    Science Based Targets initiative, Beyond Value Chain Mitigation FAQ

    The definition of beyond value chain mitigation and the mitigation hierarchy.

  7. 07
    Directive (EU) 2024/825, empowering consumers for the green transition

    Recital 12 and the Annex I prohibition on climate claims based on mitigation outside the product’s value chain.

Figures attributed to CrbonFree come from methodology v1.2, published in full with every factor and formula. Read the methodology.

About the author

Cory Bergh

Cory leads Crbon Labs, which originates its own climate projects and builds CrbonFree, the platform that measures the footprint of AI usage per token. He was previously VP of Technology and Innovation in the energy industry and holds a BComm, an MBA and the CFA.

Questions

Questions this post gets asked.

Short answers. The sources above and the methodology have the arithmetic.

Read the methodology
  • Both describe the emissions behind the electricity a company buys. The location-based figure applies the average intensity of the grid where the electricity was consumed. The market-based figure applies the contracts the company holds, so a megawatt-hour covered by a renewable energy certificate or a power purchase agreement counts at the emissions of that generator, usually zero. The GHG Protocol asks companies to report both.

  • A certificate transfers the claim to one megawatt-hour of clean generation that already happened. Buying one does not change what the grid burned in the hour the buyer drew power, so the location-based figure and the grid’s emissions factor stay the same. Certificates lower the market-based figure. Whether they cause new clean generation to be built depends on whether the revenue was needed for the project to go ahead, which unbundled certificates rarely decide.

  • To report a lower market-based Scope 2 figure and to back a claim of using renewable electricity without building generation of their own. The GHG Protocol accepts certificates as a contractual instrument under the market-based method, so a company matching its consumption reports near zero on that line. NVIDIA’s FY2026 report is a worked example: certificates, power purchase agreements and utility tariffs together took its market-based Scope 2 to 568 tonnes.

  • The Science Based Targets initiative’s term for mitigation action or investment outside a company’s own value chain, such as funding renewable generation elsewhere or retiring carbon credits. It sits beside a company’s inventory and is reported separately. It does not reduce Scope 1, 2 or 3, and it is not a substitute for cutting those emissions.

  • NVIDIA does not claim to be. Its fiscal year 2026 report states that it matched 100% of its global electricity use with clean electricity, and it reports 568 tonnes of market-based Scope 2 emissions against 308,891 location-based, 9,822 tonnes of Scope 1 and 10.7 million tonnes of Scope 3. The report does not include the electricity used to run the GPUs it sells.

  • Not to consumers in the EU after 27 September 2026. Directive 2024/825 bans claims that a product has a neutral, reduced or positive climate impact when the claim rests on mitigation outside the product’s own value chain, and names “climate neutral”, “CO2 neutral certified” and “climate compensated” as examples. The measured figure and the credits retired against it have to be reported side by side.

See your own number instead of ours.

However your team already runs AI, that is how you connect. Paste a read-only provider key, drop in an SDK, add the MCP server, install the CLI or switch on the browser extension, and the first measured tokens reach your dashboard within seconds.

Create your free account

Free plan · first tokens in seconds